It looks like you are coming from United States, but the current site you have selected to visit is Israel. Do you want to change site?

Yes, please! No, keep me on the current site

Current & Wave Measurements: Selecting the Right Methods

June 7, 2022 , 02:00 PM – 03:00 PM SGT
Current & Wave Measurements: Selecting the Right Methods

June 7th, Tuesday (8AM South Africa / 10AM Dubai / 2PM Singapore / 4PM Sydney)

To measure waves and currents can be challenging, especially from buoys and moorings that move around. We will compare the quality of acoustic current measurements from different platforms (buoys, moorings & bottom frames) using different types of acoustic profiling and single points sensors (running broadband, Z-pulse and narrow band) and give recommendations on how high data quality can be obtained in different situations.

We will also compare three methods to measure waves from buoys (with accelerometer based Motus sensors), from underwater installations (with acoustic Doppler Current Profiling Sensors) and Pressure based wave sensors. Their advantages and shortcomings will be discussed and best practices to measure waves will be presented.

Register for the Webinar

Topic divider

Join Dr. Anders from Aanderaa (a Xylem brand) as he discusses the following topics:

  • Suitable methods to measure currents acoustically in the sea
  • Advantages and shortcomings of three different methods to measure waves
  • Differences between acoustic broadband and narrowband measurements
  • Differences of measuring waves from buoys and underwater platforms

Presenter divider

Meet the Presenter:

Dr Anders Tengberg

Dr. Anders Tengberg
Product Manager & Scientific Advisor at Aanderaa/Xylem, Norway since 1997.

More than 30 years experience in development and use of underwater technology reflected in about 50 scientific publications. Part time with oceanographic research at the Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden.

Register for the Webinar

Equipment divider

Related Instruments and Equipment discussed in the webinar:

Registration divider

Date and Time: Jun 7, 2022 02:00 PM in Singapore

Register for the Webinar